Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Five agents at Triada U.S. Literary seek authors,including new agent, Lauren Spieller

Dr. Uwe Stender, lead agent at Triada
Triada US Literary Agency
PO Box 561

Sewickley, PA 15143

Note: Don't ever miss a post on Quick Brown Fox. Fill in your email in the box to the right under my bio, and get each post delivered to your Inbox.  ~Brian

Triada U.S. has five literary agents, all looking for new authors. The newest member of the team is Lauren Spieller who has joined Triada as an assistant literary agent. Most recently she was a children's scout at Mary Anne Thompson Associate. Like all new agents, Lauren needs authors.

Lauren is seeking Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, as well as commercial Adult fiction. Whatever the age group or genre, Lauren welcomes diverse voices.

In MG, she’s drawn to heartfelt contemporaries, exciting adventures, contemporary fantasy, and magical realism. Some of her favorite recent novels include Rules for Stealing Stars, George, My Seventh-Grade Life In Tights, The Seventh Wish, and Rooftoppers. 

In YA, she’d love to find authentic teen voices in any genre. Her recent favorites include Dumplin’, Scorpio Races, Since You’ve Been Gone, Feed, The Lunar Chronicles, Six of Crows, and Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda.

In Adult, Lauren is seeking commercial fiction, particularly twisted thrillers in the vein of Lauren Beukes and Gillian Flynn, and immersive fantasies, such as The Night Circus, The Miniaturist, The Rook, and A Darker Shade of Magic. She is also interested in Women’s Fiction and pop-culture non-fiction.
Query Lauren at: lauren@triadaus.com
Please include a concise summary, as well as the first ten pages in the body of the email. 

Brian
Brian Henry has a number of workshops coming up soon: “How to Make Your Stories Dramatic,” Saturday, Aug 20, in Oakville (see here), “Secrets of Writing a Page-turner” (tips for all story writers), Saturday, Sept 10, in Guelph (see here), and “Writing with Style,” Saturday, Sept 24, in Toronto (see here).

For those who love great food and a beautiful setting with their writing, Brian Henry will lead a Fall Colours Writing Retreat at Arowhon Pines Resort in Algonquin Park, Friday, Sept 16 – Sunday, Sept 18 (see here).

This fall, Brian will offer a wide range of classes:
“Welcome to Creative Writing,” Thursday afternoons Sept 29 - Dec 8, in Oakville (see here).
“Writing Kid Lit ~ Picture Books to YA (new), Tuesday Tuesday afternoons, Sept 27 - Nov 22 (no class Oct 11), in Burlington (see here).
“Intermediate Creative Writing,” Wednesday evenings, Sept 21 to Nov 30 (no class Oct 12), in Burlington (see here)
Intermediate Creative Writing,” Thursday evenings, Sept 29 - Dec 8, in Georgetown (see here).
“Intensive Creative Writing,” Wednesday afternoons, Intensive Sept 14 - Dec 14 (no class Oct 12) , in Burlington.
See details of all five classes offered this fall here.
To reserve a spot or for more details, email brianhenry@sympatico.ca

Literary agent Stacey Donaghy
Brian regularly leads How to Get Published workshops, featuring literary agents as his guest speakers. Check out current How to Get Published workshops here (and scroll down).

Brian also regularly leads Writing for Children and for Young Adults workshops featuring editors from children's book publishers or literary agents specializing in children's lit and young adult books as his guest speakers. He also offers weekly Writing Kid Lit classes. Check out current offerings here (and scroll down). 

Read reviews of Brian’s courses and workshops here.

See Brian’s complete current schedule here, including writing workshops and creative writing courses in Algonquin Park, Bolton, Barrie, Brampton, Burlington, Caledon, Georgetown, Guelph, Hamilton, Ingersoll, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Midland, Mississauga, Newmarket, Orillia, Oakville, Ottawa, Peterborough, St. Catharines, St. John, NB, Sudbury, Thessalon, Toronto, Windsor, Halton, Ingersoll, Kitchener-Waterloo, Muskoka, Peel, Simcoe, York, the GTA, Ontario and beyond.

No comments:

Post a Comment