Monday, November 25, 2019

Literary Agent joins Lutyens & Rubenstein

Melmoth by Sarah Perry,
represented by Jenny Hewson

Lutyens & Rubenstein Literary Agency
  and Book Store
21 Kensington Park Road,
London, UK
W11 2EU

Lutyens & Rubinstein was set up in 1993 by former publishers Sarah Lutyens and Felicity Rubinstein who brought together their shared experience of publishing and bookselling on both sides of the Atlantic. They were joined in 2006 by Jane Finigan who has been signing her own authors to the list since 2010, she became a partner in 2016. Daisy Parente joined the agency in 2008. 

In 2009 Lutyens & Rubinstein became the first literary agency to own an independent bookshop when they opened their doors in Notting Hill.  The shop is a general bookshop stocking fiction and nonfiction and gives the agency a unique insight into what readers and book-buyers are looking for.
The agency accepts submissions of fiction, nonfiction, cookery, children’s, YA and illustrated
Jenny Hewson became the newest member of the team in September 2019. She was previously with Rogers, Coleridge and White for 13 years. Jenny represents a wide range of award winning & bestselling authors from around the world, including Sarah Perry, Melissa Harrison, Amy Sackville, and Alexander MacLeod.
Jenny is interested in literary fiction, historical fiction (in the vein of Helen Dunmore, Kate Mosse, Elizabeth Gifford), book club fiction, gothic fiction (in the vein of The Turn of the Screw, Rebecca, Melmoth), narrative nonfiction, memoir and writing from academics and experts of all kinds who can present brilliant nonfiction ideas to a general readership, especially in the field of popular science.
She Tweets here.
Please send your material (up to 5000 words or the first three chapters) by email to: submissions@lutyensrubinstein.co.uk  
Include a short synopsis. To address your submission to someone in particular, please mark it for the attention of Susannah Godman.
Full submission guidelines here.

Two great writing workshops coming soon: Writing Conflict: Fight scenes, Dialogue scenes & Love scenes, Saturday, Nov 30, in London (see here) and Secrets of Writing a Page-Turner, Sunday, Dec 1, in Windsor (see here).

This winter, a full range of weekly courses is on offer:
Burlington: Exploring Creative Writing, Thursday afternoons, Jan 23 – March 19. Details here.
Oakville: Writing Personal Stories, Thursday evenings, Jan 23 – March 19. Details here.
Burlington: Next Step in Creative WritingTuesday afternoons, Jan 21 – March 31. 1st emailing Jan 16. Details here.
Burlington: Intensive Creative Writing, Wednesday evenings , Jan 15 – March 11. 1st readings emailed Jan 8. Details here.
Toronto: Intensive Creative Writing, Friday mornings, Jan 17 – March 13.  1st readings emailed Jan 10. Detaihere.
    See details of all winter courses here.
To reserve a spot, emailbrianhenry@sympatico.ca

Also in the new year, check out Writing Conflict: Fight scenes, Dialogue scenes & Love scenes,  Saturday, Jan 18, in Oakville (see here) and Raising the Stakes ~ How to Increase Your Story's tension, Saturday, Jan 25, in Toronto (see here).

Plus …
Algonquin Writing Retreat, Friday, June 5 – Monday, June 8, 2020. Four days of luxury and writing in one of most beautiful spots in Ontario. This is the area that inspired the Group of Seven; come and let it inspire you, too. Still lots of room. Details here.

To reserve a spot in any upcoming weekly course, weekend retreat, or Saturday workshop, email Brian at: brianhenry@sympatico.ca
Read reviews of Brian’s courses, retreats, and workshops here.

See Brian’s complete current schedule here, including Saturday writing workshops, weekly writing classes, and weekend retreats in Algonquin Park, Alliston, Bolton, Barrie, Brampton, Burlington, Caledon, Collingwood, Georgetown, Georgina, Guelph, Jackson’s Point, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Midland, Mississauga, New Tecumseth, Oakville, Ottawa, St. Catharines, Sudbury, Toronto, Windsor, Woodstock, Halton, Muskoka, Peel, Simcoe, York Region, the GTA, Ontario and beyond.

Navigation tips: Always check out the Labels underneath a post; they’ll lead you to various distinct collections of postings. If you're searching for more interviews with literary agents or a literary agent who represents a particular type of book, check out this post. 

1 comment:

  1. It is really a good book review. Writers should try to move on for the hybrid publishing. It can gather more readers from offline and online. Some people like to use device to read on. It makes them more comfortable. So near future, there will be more e-books.

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.