Sunday, November 18, 2012

The Governor General’s Awards, The Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, The Hilary Weston nonfiction prize, and the Samuel Johnson nonfiction prize – Who won what

A number of prominent awards, were handed out recently, including the Governor General Literary Awards:

Linda Spalding took the Governor General's fiction award for The Purchase (McClelland & Stewart)

Ross King won the nonfiction award for Leonardo and the Last Supper (Bond Street Books)

And Susin Nielsen won the children's text award for The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larson (Tundra Books)

(See all the GG winners and finalists here.)

Tamas Dobozy, one of the GG Award nominees, won the Writers' Trust Fiction Prize for his novel Siege 13 (Thomas Allen Publishers). Read more here.

Candace Savage won the Hilary Weston Prize for Nonfiction for A Geography in Blood: Unearthing Memory from a Prairie Landscape (Greystone Books) Read more here.

Note: See submission guidelines for Greystone Books here, and for Tundra Books here.

And Canadian author Wade Davis won Britain’s Samuel Johnson Prize in Nonfiction for Into the Silence:  The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Alfred A. Knopf). Read more here.

I’d be happy to post a review of any of these – or of any good book you’ve read recently. Send your review to: 

See Brian Henry's schedule here, including writing workshops and creative writing courses in Kingston, Peterborough, Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, Georgetown, Milton, Oakville, Burlington, St. Catharines, Hamilton, Dundas, Kitchener, Guelph, London, Woodstock, Orangeville, Newmarket, Barrie, Gravenhurst, Sudbury, Muskoka, Peel, Halton, the GTA, Ontario and beyond.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.