Monday, April 25, 2011

Wolfe Island Scene of the Crime Festival & Short Mystery Story Contest

The Wolfe Island Scene of the Crime Festival will be held on Saturday August 13, 2011. Registrations are now being accepted. Maureen Jennings, author of the William Murdoch Series (from which T.V.'s Murdoch Mysteries have been derived) is our Grant Allan Award Winner fro 2010. Guest authors are Elizabeth Duncan, C.B. Forrest, R.J. Harlick, and Howard Shrier.

Join us for a day on bucolic Wolfe Island (a short ferry ride from Kingston, Ontario) for author readings, a panel discussion, meet and greet breakfast, lunch, and our famous church supper as well as the award presentation to Maureen and a guest lecturer on matters criminal.

The contest:
First Prize: $100
Second Prize: $50
Third Prize: $35

• Contest open to Canadian citizens or those resident in Canada and not previously published in the mystery or crime fiction genre.
• Previous 1st place winners are ineligible.
• Only one story per author per year
• Submission deadline June 1st, 2011
• Story must be in English and must not exceed 3500 words
• Winners will be notified by email on or before June 30, 2011 and results will be posted on the Scene of the Crime website:

See full contest rules and instructions for submitting your entry here.
Good luck!

See Brian's full schedule here, including writing workshops and creative writing courses in Toronto, Etobicoke, Mississauga, Brampton, Georgetown, Oakville, Burlington, Hamilton, Kitchener, Orangeville, Barrie, Gravenhurst, Muskoka, London, Peel, Halton, the GTA, Ontario and beyond.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.